Why are Vaccines Effective in Some Individuals but Not in Others?

SEPTEMBER 14 - Transcriptomic profiling has been used to identify key immunological determinants that underpin vaccine response in individuals. Most critically, it is now known that the state of the innate and adaptive immune system even before the introduction of the vaccine has a strong association with the efficacy of the vaccine.


These findings could inform future studies into SARS-CoV-2 vaccination.

Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Time: 10 AM PDT | 1 PM EDT | 7 PM CET

Register now


In this webinar, Pieter Meysman, post-doctoral researcher at the University of Antwerp, will outline the use of transcriptomic profiling before and after vaccination to explore the differences between poor and good vaccine responders. Meysman and colleagues studied the effect of the common hepatitis B vaccine and measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) vaccination on the transcriptomic profile from blood. This webinar will further explore how such data can be used to predict vaccine response based on baseline gene expression measurements. Meysman will cover the different aspects underlying the design and application of these studies, from how to define responder types to the data processing required to generate reliable predictors.